puce_niv1Public agricultural establishment of Education and Professional Training,
     "la Viti de Beaune" consist of 4 centres :

puce_niv2Le LEGTA, Lycée d'Enseignement Général et Technologique:  High School of General Education and Agricultural Technology by the way of the initial formation.

puce_niv2Le CFA, Centre de formation d'Apprentis: Apprenticeship Training Center.

puce_niv2Le CFPPA , Centre de Formation Professionnelle et de Promotion Agricole: Center of Professional Training and Agricultural Promotion for adults through continuing education.

puce_niv2Le "Domaine Viticole " exploitation of 19 ha, serving as pedagogical support and experimentation (production-winemaking-marketing).


The French educational system is highly centralized and organized, with many subdivisions. It is divided into the three stages of enseignement primaire (primary education), enseignement secondaire (secondary education), and enseignement supérieur (higher education).

Primary school

Schooling in France is mandatory from age 6. Most parents start sending their children at age 3, at kindergarten classes (maternelle), which are usually affiliated to a borough's primary school. Some even start earlier at age 2 in pré-maternelle or très petite section classes, which are essentially daycare centres. The last year of kindergarten, grande section ("big form") is an important step in the educational process, as it is the year in which pupils are introduced to reading.

After kindergarten, the young students move on to the école élémentaire (literally the "elementary school"). It is in the first year that they will learn to write and develop their reading skills. Much akin to other educational systems, French primary school students usually have a single teacher (or perhaps two) who teaches the complete curriculum, such as French, mathematics, science and humanities to name a few. Note that the French word for a teacher at the primary school level is maître, or its feminine form maîtresse (previously called instituteur, or its feminine form institutrice).

Children stay in elementary school for 5 years until they are 10-11 years-old. The classes are named : CP (cours préparatoire), CE1 (cours élémentaire 1), CE2 (cours élémentaire 2), CM1 (cours moyen 1) and CM2 (cours moyen 2). [2]
Middle school and high school
Further information: Secondary education in France

After primary school, two educational stages follow:

collèges (middle school), which cater for the first four years of secondary education from the ages of 11 to 15
lycées (high school), which provide a three-year course of further secondary education for children between the ages of 15 and 18. Pupils are prepared for the baccalauréat (baccalaureate, colloquially known as le bac). The baccalauréat can lead to higher education studies or directly to professional life.

Pin It

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.